Talents

I’ve been thinking about talents for the past few days and all of the many talents each of us has been given.  This has been mostly brought on by a compliment I received after playing in Church on Sunday.  I’m a pianist, as well as a singer, and played this song in between Sacrament talks, and it is one of my favorites to play.  Although, as I listen to it again, I will say that I have a terrible problem with tempo as I believe the middle and final sections should be played much faster than they are written, and with different dynamics, and….wow, I’m rambling.  NOT the purpose of this talk.

Anyway, I’ve been trying to be more gracious when I receive compliments about my various talents and abilities.  I sing, play piano, dance (sort of and with guidance), act, create costumes, and write.  These are all various creative outlets that I have found I excel in, or at the very least I enjoy.  Someone at Church pointed out these talents to me at Sunday, and it was followed by “I’m amazed how so much talent can be put into one person, and miss so many other people.” I’m paraphrasing but that’s the gist of it.  My return phrase was said with great adherence to prompting.  “That just means that you have other talents that bless the lives of others.”  Again, I’m paraphrasing but that’s the gist of it.

This brief conversation has had me thinking, that while there are many talents I have (and that’s not me being prideful.  Everyone has talents and acknowledging them is to better understand yourself.), there are many that I just don’t have and most of these come from a Church related mindset.

  1. I do not have a talent for understanding scripture.
    • Now, hold the phone.  I’m not saying that I cannot understand the Beattitudes, or the Parables, or many of Christ’s teachings.  But if I’m reading a story or some sort of historical  event in the scriptures, I cannot find the deep hidden meaning that if you read this scripture and revert back to a twenty lines before it and cross reference to this in an entirely different book you’ll find that it means X, Y, Z.  I cannot find the hidden meaning.  I’m a top level learner, and honestly, that works for me.  It’s the simple truth that I think many people have a tendency to overlook in favor of that meaning that you have to sweat over in order to find.
  2. I do not have a talent for impromptu speaking.
    • Just don’t ask me.  Seriously.  Don’t ask me to just give my testimony, or to give my opinion, without giving me the all important T-I-M-E.  It will seriously end with embarrassment for me, because what are words?,  and you, since the desired result is not what you originally wanted.  Need me to speak?  Give thoughts?  Just basically say anything?  Yeah, I’ll need time and the length of that depends on exactly how long you want me to speak.

While there are many more talents that I do not have possess, these two I find cause me the greatest issue since they happen alot, especially during Fast and Testimony meeting, and when I’m in Church related classes, like Sunday School, Institute, or Relief Society meeting.  Do I get dismayed and really downhearted because these two things are serious personal issues for me?  You bet I do!!

But you know what?  That’s okay!  It’s totally okay that things things are things I cannot do well.  (Yes, I put the word “things” three time in a sentence.  Grammar Nazi in me is SO IRRITATED!).  But there are others, so many others, who have these talents and I can choose to be uplifted and find great guidance in their words and thoughts.  I have my talents to share and they have theirs.  Together, we create a beautiful word where we can share the Gospel and teach all kinds of people!

– Dee

Leave a Reply

