Fitness Fridays

Almost two years ago, I was within 5 pounds of my goal weight.  I’d done Weight Watchers from a little two years and had lost almost 20 pounds.  The journey, in the beginning, had been awesome.  The weight was coming right off and I was following a strict regime while enjoying many of the foods I enjoyed.  Taco salad, being one of them.  But when I was so close, everything fell apart.  It was during a transitional stage in my marriage where it just seemed pointless to continue.  A post for another time.  But towards the end of my marriage and slowly after my divorce I’ve gained it all back, plus a little extra.

It’s all accumulated to this point.  A new turn on my journey.  A new spot where I take my life into my hands and say that here’s something else that I do have control over.  I’m not the most athletic person, quite the opposite actually.  I’d rather stay inside and play video games, or binge watch Netflix, or do character development and write, then spent time in the outside world.  I swear I’m part vampire.  I know, I know.  It seems like I’m going at this alone but the fantabulous Kristen will be doing this with me and we’re going to keep each other accountable.  For me, things are going to get really hard in the upcoming weeks and it’s going to be an adventure.

Each week will contain some of the following:

  • How were my goals from the previous week reached?  Were they reached at all?
  • Did I go over my allowed points for the week?  (yes, I will be using the WW system)  If so, why?
  • What do I need to keep doing for the following week?
  • What do I need to get rid of for the following week?
  • What new goals do I need to set for the new week?
  • How much have I lost in a week?
  • How much have I lost total?
  • What was the hardest thing I had to do that week?
  • What was the easiest thing I had to do that week?

There will be many other questions added to this, but it’s to give you an idea of what’s coming.

I will be setting mini goals for myself.  Every five pounds I lose I get to choose from a list of non-food rewards.  That list includes but is not limited to…

  • a mani/pedi
  • two hours of interrupted reading time
  • two hours of interrupted writing time
  • piano time
  • unwind with a movie of my choice
  • a new song for my workout playlist
  • go to the big mall and browse through really expensive clothes
  • schedule an “after” shoot ( to be done w/ the fabulous Kristen and once I’ve reached my goal)
  • put together a positive thoughts binder (compiled with things I’ve gotten from work)
  • make a cookbook of recipes I’ve tried that have are tasty and are point appropriate
  • buy a potted plant for my room
  • buy that Paul Cardall music book I’ve been wanting for years
  • a trip to the library
  • visit the Arboretum
  • play DAInquisition all day long!  (most likely be a Saturday event)

There are many more things I could add to this list but it gives you an idea of things I’m looking at.

So, to get this week started here’s a look at some of my goals for the following week:

  1. Get rid of all food items that have sugar and its variants in the house.  (Note: I keep honey in the house b/c it’s natural and it’s the perfect things for breakfast when I eat it with yogurt and granola)
  2. Continue meal planning.  I’ve been living on a the Dave Ramsey budget system and I’ve noticed that meal planning helps me stay within my food budget.  Plus, it’s one thing I can really control – the food I bring into the house.  I’ve not bought chocolate at the grocery for well over a month.
  3. Plan one “free” meal or treat.  It’ll all go towards my week allowance of 49 points that’s for whatever or if I happen to go over my point value for the day.  This is usually a Friday when I come home from work.
  4. Stay a few points under my daily point value.  I start at 29 points a day.
  5. Weigh-in ONCE a week.  Friday mornings b/4 work, I’ll weigh in and that’s it.  It’s not good to hover over the scale b/c if you don’t notice any change from day to day it leads to discouragment.
  6. Celebrate the little victories.  Losing 0.2 pounds a week is better than gaining 0.2 pounds.
  7. Go for a walk/run three times a week.  Better to start small and succeed than go big and fail.  The walk goes from my house towards the main street, turn left, go all the way til the road ends and then back.  It’s a trek.  I’ve not measured it, but I will this upcoming week.
  8. Two hours of media time.  That includes the hour I use to eat dinner, and one hour for my video game.
  9. Make a trip to the temple once a month.  It’s good to be spiritually fit as well as physically fit.

Nine goals.  These will change as I get stronger and more adaptable and as things become sheer habit.

So, what do you all think?  I’m super excited about this and I’m determined to be committed rather than involved in this new step. And I look forward to seeing where this one little step leads me.

– Deanna

One thought on “Fitness Fridays

  1. Deanna, You can do it. I love the goals you have set and your accountability. The more food you eat without a barcode the better. Your body will reward you:) Enjoy the journey and I look forward to reading your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

