A New Goal

So, I was sitting at Institute last Thursday ( and for you non-LDS people the best definition I can give for Institute is that it’s a group Scripture study ) and I was asked “what is my dream job?”  Without any hesitation my first answer was to be a writer, followed closely by being an actress.  Shortly after the subject moved on to other things as more people arrived and attention was, thankfully, moved away from me but that question and my answer has plagued me since.

Now, I’ve loved writing and performing since I was little and they’ve always been passions but I’ve never once sought to go after them as any sort of a career.  My answer up until the last few years has been to be a teacher or a stay-at-home mother.  I’m not gonna lie, once I really thought about it, being a stay-at-home mother still holds one of the top slots of my dream job list.  It’s just that time and circumstance has forced that particular dream to the back burner for a while.

But that’s a sob story for another post (if ever).

Why haven’t I allowed myself to pursue my dream career?  I’ve become a teacher, of a sorts, and it is a very fulfilling and rewarding experience.  If I ever forget that, all I need to do is step into the Infant rooms…or Toddlers…or really any room that has kids.  🙂  I’ve been the Primary Music Leader, which has been my dream calling within the Church, and it allowed me to teach music to children.  You really can’t ask for a better calling than that.

I can’t just up and move to New York City, or show up at any open audition.  I don’t have that kind of courage.  So, I just share my love of the stage with others…however that presents itself.

But writing!  I’ve shared that creativity hundreds of times over.  It’s started as fanfiction and I’ve received many positive reviews for my work.  What little actual fiction I’ve written has been shared with one other person who seems to appreciate what I’ve written.  Now, I know that’s entirely different than if I’d send it off to a publisher or have an actual professional read my work.

But why not?  Why shouldn’t I complete a manuscript, have it edited and sent off to a publisher?  The worst that can happen is that they say no.  Actually, the worst that can happen is that I don’t follow my dreams.  Don’t get me wrong, I L-O-V-E my day job.  I’m working my way up through the company and getting more education to perform my job in a better capacity.  But I feel like there’s more of me to give.  Other ways I can teach and share my passions with others.

NaNoWriMo is coming up.  Come November 1st, my world changes for 30 beautiful and insane days.  I write 50,000 words in 30 days which averages to about 1,667 words per day.  This year, I’m going to make a goal with my novel.  I’m going to send it off to a publisher.  Maybe not this year, and maybe not next.  But I’m going to write this book with one purpose in mind.  So, that means that the next few months, October especially, will be dedicated to character building, world creating, and historical research.  I already a plot in mind and I’ll keep you all updated.  Promise!

So, here’s to a new goal and a chance to make one of many dreams come true.

– Deanna

Leave a Reply

