Dreams Do Come True!!

Kristen has been a friend of mine for years and I’ve valued that friendship for quite some time.  Over the past few years she’s been developing her career as a professional photographer and it has been such a delight to watch her progress and to see all of the most recent posts about her work.

She’s also shared in my excitement for the upcoming production of Beauty and the Beast as I’ll be performing as Belle.  When I got my gold dress a couple of month’s ago Kristen’s first words were:

“Dee…I want to take your pictures.”

Now, I’m not going to lie, I was so excited that Kristen wanted to take my pictures because I’d seen her work and it’s so classic and elegant.  I was also a bit nervous because I hate having my pictures taken.  I know…kinda hard to avoid the limelight when you play the leading lady.  But my blue dress was finished about a week ago and we were able to have two outfits for what turned into a three hour photo session.

She captured the Disney Princess in me so well and definitely how I see Belle.  She’s so different from the classic Disney princesses (Snow White, Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty).  She’s bookish, sassy, independent, courageous…and yes I am putting a cartoon princess upon a pedestal aren’t I?

But Belle’s been the dream role since I discovered this musical almost twenty years ago.  Well, it’s tied for Christine Daae but there’s no way I could ever play that role; just dream about it.  So, to be Belle it’s a dream come true.  The people I’m performing with are so talented and have all been doing this for a lot longer than I have and I’ve learned so much from them!  This journey ends in its shining moment of opening night in 7 days and I try not to think about it.  Or I wouldn’t be worth anything.

Leave a Reply

